About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us


2014 Kay Yow Award

The 2013 CollegeInsider.com VIP Party was held Rooftop 866 and Briza, an Atlanta hotspot. It was one of the premier events in Atlanta, site of the 2013 NCAA Men's Basketball Championship.

April 14, 2014

BOSTON (MA) -- After leading her team to a 28-5 record, Hampton's David Six is the recipient of the 2014 Kay Yow award.
The MEAC coach of the Year led the Lady Pirates to a perfect 16-0 record in conference and a No. 12 seed in the NCAA Tournament. It was the fifth NCAA appearance in as many seasons at Hampton for Six who has coached the Lady Pirates to a 49 straight wins over MEAC opponents.
The No. 12 seed was the highest ever seeding for Hampton and the best for any MEAC school since the 64-team format.
Hampton finished the season ranked No. 8 in the Women's Mid-Major Top 25

The Kay Yow Award was established last year to honor the Division I women's head coach who embodies not only a winning spirit but who also displays great character both on and off the court.

Yow was a coaching legend who led NC State to 737 wins during her 34 seasons at the school. She was wildly successful in every forum in which she coached, leading gold medal winners at the 1981 World University Games, the 1986 Goodwill Games, 1986 World Championship Games and the 1988 Olympic Games.


Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
More Honors
All-Conference Honors
All-Decade Team
Mid-Major All Decade
Copyright © 2015 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.