About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us


2013 Kay Yow Award

April 15, 2013

BOSTON (MA) -- After leading her team to a 28-4 record, Albany's Katie Abrahamson-Henderson is the recipient of the 2013 Kay Yow award.
Abrahamson-Henderson was unanimous selection as America East Conference Coach of the Year after guiding UAlbany to just the seventh undefeated league slate (16-0) in America East history.
Her Lady Danes finished ranked in the top 20 in eight categories - with their lowest ranking being 17th (3-point percentage - 35.9). The Great Danes were third in scoring defense (49.0) and fifth in field goal % defense (33.2). UAlbany was also seventh in rebound margin (+10.4), tenth in scoring margin (+18.4), 11th in W-L percentage (90.0), 12th in field goal % (44.8), and 13th in steals (11.9). 
The Kay Yow Award was established last year to honor the Division I women's head coach who embodies not only a winning spirit but who also displays great character both on and off the court.

Yow was a coaching legend who led NC State to 737 wins during her 34 seasons at the school. She was wildly successful in every forum in which she coached, leading gold medal winners at the 1981 World University Games, the 1986 Goodwill Games, 1986 World Championship Games and the 1988 Olympic Games.


Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
More Honors
All-Conference Honors
All-Decade Team
Mid-Major All Decade
Copyright © 2015 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.